Life Is a Dance

Grace Williams is one of many WGM Volunteers In Action participants serving around the world this summer. She is the missionary kid teacher at Tenwek Hospital in Kenya. In her latest blog post, she shares a great reminder and lesson for us all.

“If you know me at all, you know I love to dance. Whether I’m in my kitchen, in a dorm room or swingin on a dance floor, I feel giddy when I’m dancing. This has always been something I’ve enjoyed doing, but about 5 years ago I began taking swing dancing lessons in Knoxville. I caught on quickly and soon began taking more progressive lessons. It was during one of these lessons that I received the best advice for dancing and life. The advice was to RELAX and TRUST. The follow is supposed to wait for the lead’s direction. If the lead knows what he is doing, the dance will be fun and effortless. I wasn’t very good at relaxing and trusting. I kept trying to anticipate the next move, and this was causing my mind and body to become tense. Once I began to relax and trust my partners, I became a better dancer and dancing became even more enjoyable.

“I tell you this because of the song ‘We Dance’ by Steffany Frizzell. I heard this song in February of this year, and at the time, I felt like I was drowning in confusion and uncertainty. The song talks about dancing with God. As I listened to this song, I thought about the advice I had been given over 2 years ago. I needed to RELAX and TRUST God. I had been trying to take control. I had been trying to anticipate God’s next move before He was ready to reveal it to me. God isn’t a random guy at a dance hall. He knows what He is doing and He wants me to relax and trust Him to guide me through this beautiful dance of life.”

tenwek

Photo credit: Grace Williams

You steady me Slow and sweet we sway Take the lead and I will follow Finally ready now To close my eyes and just believe That you won’t lead me where you don’t go

When my faith gets tired And my hope seems lost You spin me round and round And remind me of that song The one you wrote for me And we dance And we dance

I’ve been told To pick up my sword And fight for love Little did I know That love had won for me Here in your arms You still my heart again And I breathe you in Like I’ve never breathed till now

When my faith gets tired And my hope seems lost You spin me round and round And remind me of that song The one you wrote for me And we dance And we dance And we dance And we dance Just you and me

And I will lock eyes With the one who’s ransomed me The one who gave me joy from mourning And I will lock eyes With the one who’s chosen me The one who set my feet to dancing We dance Just you and me It’s nice to know I’m not alone I’ve found my home here in your arms

“We Dance” by Steffany Frizzell

ACT: Looking for how God is leading you? WGM can help. We provide a variety of ways to serve that may fit your calling. Visit wgm.org/serve for more information.

Leave a Reply

