Church in Uganda, with a side of chicken

The Volunteers in Action program sends out volunteers aged 18 – 29 for six weeks to a year to mission fields around the world for immersive missions experiences.

Jean Komline, who blogs at Jean’s Joyful Journey, ended up being a the proud owner of a chicken when the church she was attending one Sunday in Uganda was raising funds for a new roof. Here’s an excerpt of the story, and you can check out the whole post here.

“I didn’t know what to do with the chicken. I know I love them…but I had actually never picked one up before. One of the missionary kids grabbed ahold of its wings for me and handed it over. I didn’t want to keep it, as I don’t have a home for it or the means to care for it. So it was decided to give it to the jaja (grandmother) sitting behind me. She was quite surprised and very grateful. She kept saying “webale nyo” over and over again. The pastor told me later about how she is so faithful walking ever-so-slowly to church each week with her grandchildren. And so, that is my story of how I once owned a chicken for 1 hour.”

ACT

Are you a college student or 20-something looking for this kind of missions experience – where you are immersed in the location where you serve? Check out www.wgm.org/via for more information.

Leave a Reply

